Current time: 04-21-2014, 08:08 AM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Package / Type
12-14-2009, 07:01 PM (This post was last modified: 12-14-2009 07:02 PM by olivia.)
Post: #1
Package / Type
It would be great if we could tie hosting Types to hosting Packages.

Meaning you can choose whether someone can create/use a subdomain, domain, or both with a certain package.

This would be very helpful, because I wish to offer someone with a domain 15 subdomains.
However, it would be silly to offer someone with a subdomain subdomains.

If I could get a plugin or fix that does this, I would very grateful!
Find all posts by this user
12-14-2009, 07:12 PM
Post: #2
RE: Package / Type
You mean you want to let them have 15 domains @ *.yourdomain.com? This, afaik, cannot be done in WHM. But if you mean limiting the package itself then yes.

Kevin Mark - TheHostingTool Lead Developer
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
12-14-2009, 07:19 PM (This post was last modified: 12-14-2009 07:21 PM by olivia.)
Post: #3
RE: Package / Type
(12-14-2009 07:12 PM)Kevin Wrote:  You mean you want to let them have 15 domains @ *.yourdomain.com? This, afaik, cannot be done in WHM. But if you mean limiting the package itself then yes.

I am referring to changing the way THT works; particularly the Order Form.

Right now, you choose your type and then you choose the package.

I would like to be able to specify which type(s) of THT hosting are allowed with each THT package.

For instance,
I have a package which offers the ability to create 15 subdomains.
This package is intended only for those who order domain (type) hosting.
However, unless I disable subdomains completely, there is no way to ensure the package will be used as intended.
Find all posts by this user
12-14-2009, 07:21 PM
Post: #4
RE: Package / Type
So let's say package x requires a domain while package y requires a subdomain? This gets interesting because: If you get the subdomain option then you can just add a domain via cPanel. Unless, of course, you restrict that option. Tongue

Kevin Mark - TheHostingTool Lead Developer
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
12-14-2009, 07:24 PM (This post was last modified: 12-14-2009 07:29 PM by olivia.)
Post: #5
RE: Package / Type
(12-14-2009 07:21 PM)Kevin Wrote:  So let's say package x requires a domain while package y requires a subdomain? This gets interesting because: If you get the subdomain option then you can just add a domain via cPanel. Unless, of course, you restrict that option. Tongue

If package y requires a subdomain,
I would not give package y's WHM counter-part the ability to create Addon Domains, Parked Domains, or even Subdomains.


The problem is I have a THT package matched to a WHM package that has certain quotas and features.
These quotas and features are meant for a certain type (domain or subdomain) of hosting.
However, THT does not allow you to assign a hosting type to its packages.

Instead, you choose whatever hosting type you want.
Then, whatever hosting package you want.
Find all posts by this user
12-14-2009, 07:30 PM
Post: #6
RE: Package / Type
Then it becomes interesting when the user has xyz.myhost.com and wants to park Xyz.info but it's been restricted. It may be a waste of time for support staff, but it can be done. It just wouldn't be a priority. Tongue

Nelson - Retired TheHostingTool Developer
[Image: sleek.png]
Find all posts by this user
12-14-2009, 07:35 PM
Post: #7
RE: Package / Type
(12-14-2009 07:30 PM)Nelson Wrote:  Then it becomes interesting when the user has xyz.myhost.com and wants to park Xyz.info but it's been restricted. It may be a waste of time for support staff, but it can be done. It just wouldn't be a priority. Tongue

That's why it would be an option.
You can choose whether a package allows for domain, subdomain, or both types of hosting.

I, personally, would only need the package to specify domain or subdomain.
Because I wouldn't allow someone with subdomain type hosting to perform domain actions, i.e. parking.

Anyway,
I appreciate you guys doing it! I understand this is a free service, and it's really at your discretion.
Hopefully, it won't take too long Wink
Find all posts by this user


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)