Current time: 04-18-2014, 11:39 AM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Force Ads
07-27-2009, 08:32 AM
Post: #11
RE: Force Ads
its not really our choice, to use forced ads with cPanel you need root perms right now.

Nick - TheHostingTool Staff Coordinator

[Image: standard.png]

Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
07-27-2009, 02:59 PM
Post: #12
RE: Force Ads
Yes, I can confirm that. You will need root access, unless there is a workaround.

Jimmie Lin - Community Manager & THT.Next Developer
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
07-27-2009, 03:11 PM
Post: #13
RE: Force Ads
I can think of an extremely complex and annoying workaround, and though it is less than ideal, it works.

All you need is cron jobs.

What you do:

Assuming ads are turned "on", simply instruct your users to place the advertisement code on your page. It will generate a JavaScript code which will embed the required ad, and will also send a success message to your tht admin panel, which records the success. If after a certain period of time, the ads have not sent a success message, it could suspend the account.

What do you think about that? Its not perfect, but it would work for the most part.
Find all posts by this user
07-27-2009, 04:39 PM
Post: #14
RE: Force Ads
No, the success message could be faked. Sad

Kevin Mark - TheHostingTool Lead Developer
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
07-27-2009, 06:00 PM
Post: #15
RE: Force Ads
True. Well, it was worth a shot.

Maybe use a php/iframe setup? Can't fake that as easily.
Find all posts by this user
11-25-2009, 02:08 PM
Post: #16
RE: Force Ads
(07-27-2009 06:00 PM)David Wrote:  True. Well, it was worth a shot.

Maybe use a php/iframe setup? Can't fake that as easily.

Na, iframes never look good, easiest way is with root permissions.

Use a spider? to check if they removed it?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: